Are you tired of that Facebook friend who annoys you with their posts and app updates? Or do you and a friend just not have much to talk about anymore, but your Facebook connection keeps the friendship from dissolving into oblivion, like it would in real life? If deleting that person from your friends list is too cyber-confrontational for you, you can actually keep their posts from showing on your News Feed without actually unfriending them.

Unfollow:

If you go to a friend’s Timeline and click the Following button, clicking the “Unfollow” option will change it to read “Follow” and that friend’s posts will no longer show in your News Feed. To undo this go to their Timeline and click the “Follow” button–it will change to read “Following” and their future posts would start showing in your News Feed. No story is generated by either action, the friend is not given any notification and they remain on your friends list. There would be no change in the way messages work.

 

unfollow

Restrict:

So, now we learned how you can stop seeing a friends posts. Now, let’s stop them from seeing your posts. That way, they will not be able to view, comment, or react with your Facebook posts. From your friends page, click the “Friends” menu and add this person to your “Restricted” list. When you add someone to your Restricted list, they’ll only be able to see your Public content or posts that you tag them in. So if you put your boss on your Restricted list, post a photo and choose Friends as the audience, your boss (and anyone else on Restricted) won’t see that photo.

restricted

 

By making these simple changes, you have basically “unfriended” that person without actually unfriending them. You still show up as friends on Facebook, making it a lot less awkward when you run into them around town.